Skip to main content

Saint Louis University Header Logo Center

Menu Search & Directory

About SLU Research

Saint Louis University's Office of the Vice President for Research (OVPR) provides support, guidance and resources to faculty pursuing original research.

The Office of the Vice President for Research enables faculty research by fostering a vibrant research environment at SLU. Our goal is to lift many of the administrative burdens that accompany managing sponsored research so that faculty can focus on pursuing research itself. The Office of the Vice President for Research can assist SLU faculty in the following areas:

  • Identifying funding opportunities
  • Convening faculty from across disciplines and creating collaborations
  • Proposal development and review
  • Managing awards and post-award compliance support

Research Councils and Committees

In the spirit of shared governance, SLU Research manages a variety of committees and councils to convene faculty, staff and administration around research. An up-to-date list of these organizations, their charges, and their most up-to-date rosters can be viewed at the page below. 

Research Councils and Committees

Our Team

The Vice President for Research

Ken Olliff
Kenneth A. Olliff
kolliff@slu.edu
773-612-6484
Dubourg Hall, Room 448
 

Ken Olliff serves as vice president for research at Saint Louis University, a role that he has held since July 2016. Dr. Olliff is responsible for growing the scale and eminence of SLU’s research enterprise, fostering an innovative research culture, building areas of distinctive strength, and raising SLU’s profile as a preeminent research university. Olliff also oversees SLU’s research innovation efforts, working closely with St. Louis’ innovation and entrepreneurship community to translate research discoveries into the marketplace.

In fall 2018, Olliff oversaw the creation and now serves as director of the Saint Louis University Research Institute. Founded through a 10-year, $50 million gift from Dr. Jeanne and Rex Sinquefield, the vision for the Research Institute is to set SLU on a path to becoming the world’s leading Jesuit research university.

Dr. Olliff serves as chair of the Program Committee for the Cortex Innovation Community and on the board of the Center for Creative Arts in St. Louis. He is a member of the St. Louis BioSTL Coalition, the Missouri Botanical Garden’s Mission Science Council, and the Governing Council of Washington University’s Institute for Clinical and Translational Sciences.

Olliff joined Saint Louis University after 12 years at the University of Chicago, most recently as associate vice president for program development in the Office of the Vice President for Research and National Labs. Responsible for managing UChicago’s research enterprise along with Argonne and Fermi National Laboratories, the Office oversees a combined annual research expenditures of approximately $1.4 billion.

Olliff received his bachelor’s degree at the University of Rochester, and his Doctor of Ministry from Meadville Lombard Theological School. He performed advanced graduate work in religion at Harvard University, and he holds an Executive MBA from the University of Chicago Booth School of Business.


Most Recent Communications from the Vice President

View a Complete List of Messages From the Vice President for Research

Selected Interviews From the Vice President

Leadership Team
 
COS
Matthew Christian
Associate Vice President for Research and Chief of Staff
matthew.christian@slu.edu
314-977-2047

Jasmin Patel
Jasmin Patel
Assistant Vice President for Research, Research Strategy Group
jasmin.patel@slu.edu
314-977-3289
 

placeholder
Enrico Di Cera, M.D.
Deputy Vice President for Research
Interim Vice Dean for Research, School of Medicine
enrico.dicera@health.slu.edu
314-977-9201
 

Graeme Thomas
Graeme Thomas
Executive Director, Research Innovation Group
graeme.thomas@slu.edu
314-272-2599

Anne Miller
Anne Miller
Director, Research Commercialization
anne.miller@slu.edu
314-580-5093

Mark Haenchen
Mark Haenchen
Executive Director, Research Integrity and Safety Group
mark.haenchen@slu.edu
314-977-6885


Amy Breuer
Amy Breuer
Executive Assistant to the Vice President
amy.breuer@slu.edu
314-977-7742
 

alexis bruce staudt
Alexis Bruce-Staudt
Executive Director of GO Centers
alexis.brucestaudt@slu.edu
314-977-6314

GO Centers

The Grant Operation (GO) Centers brings together key pre- and post-award staff into a single team to provide hands-on support to faculty applying for and managing their grants.

GO Center Pre and Post Award Assignments

alexis bruce-staudt
Alexis Bruce-Staudt
Executive Director of GO Centers
alexis.brucestaudt@slu.edu
314-977-6314

placeholder
David Borgmeyer
Research Strategist
david.borgmeyer@slu.edu
314-977-1129

ann scales
Ann Scales
Post-Award Specialist I
ann.scales@slu.edu
314-977-7548

Spark
Matt Renaud
Pre-Award Specialist II
matt.renaud@slu.edu
314-977-5625


Courtney Schlueter
Courtney Schlueter
Pre-Award Specialist II
courtney.schlueter@slu.edu
314-977-7022

Angela Jouglard
Angela Jouglard
Post-Award Specialist II
angela.jouglard@slu.edu
314-977-7543

Karla Meshey
Karla Meshey
Pre-Award Specialist II
karla.m.meshey@slu.edu
314-977-8615

Lisa Wagner
Lisa Wagner
Post-Award Specialist II
lisa.wagner@slu.edu
314-977-5453

spark
Cyn Wise
Post-Award Specialist III
cyn.wise@slu.edu
314-977-9356

sara bauman
Sara Bauman
Post-Award Specialist I
sara.bauman@slu.edu
314-977-6095

 
Research Innovation Group

The Research Innovation Group (RIG) manages the intellectual property portfolio and industry contracting activities for Saint Louis University. 

Graeme Thomas
Graeme Thomas

Executive Director, Research Innovation Group
graeme.thomas@slu.edu
314-272-2599


Malcolm Townes
Malcolm S. Townes
Business Development Manager
malcolm.townes@slu.edu
314-236-9096
 

Anne Miller
Anne K. Miller
Intellectual Property Manager
anne.miller@slu.edu
314-925-3042
 

Zerina
Zerina Albrecht
Contracts Specialist
zerina.albrecht@slu.edu
314-925-3049

Kine Walker
Kine' J. Walker
Administrative Assistant
kine.walker@slu.edu
314-925-3027

Research Strategy Group

The Research Strategy Group (RSG) works with faculty in all aspects of research program development, including idea generation, seed funding, project management, and proposal submission.

jasmin patel
Jasmin Patel

Assistant Vice President for Research, Research Strategy Group
jasmin.patel@slu.edu
314-977-3289


Matthew Schuelke
Matthew Schuelke
Senior Statistician
matthew.schuelke@slu.edu
314-977-9766

Terri Borowiak
Terri Borowiak
Grants Administrator
terri.borowiak@slu.edu
314-977-2215

Mike Marcinkowski
Mike Marcinkowski
Grant Writer
mike.marcinkowski@slu.edu
314-977-9769

Vicki Moreland
Vicki Moreland
Grants Manager
vicki.moreland@slu.edu
314-977-7733


Debbie Williams
Debbie Williams
Grant Administrator
deborah.a.williams@slu.edu
314-977-7743

placeholder
Bob McNair
Research Strategist
robert.mcnair@slu.edu
314-977-9377

placeholder
David Borgmeyer
Research Strategist
david.borgmeyer@slu.edu
314-977-1129

Sponsored Programs Accounting Group

The Sponsored Programs Accounting (SPA) Group handles financial and accounting matters for faculty who have been awarded grants and contracts. SPA provides this support for externally sponsored federal and private awards and for internally funded awards.

Contact your department's Sponsored Programs Accounting team member


Patti M
Patti Montgomery, CPA
Grant Accountant
patti.montgomery@slu.edu
314-977-1195

Lei Tang
Lei Tang, MAcc
Financial Analyst
lei.tang@slu.edu
314-977-2390


Mary Lou
Mary Lou Pereira, BA
Grant Accountant
marylou.pereira@slu.edu
314-977-6352

Katie McDowell
Katie McDowell, CPA
Grant Accountant II
catherine.mcdowell@slu.edu
314-977-6357

Sharmi Ray
Sharmi Ray, MA
Grant Accountant
sharmi.ray@slu.edu
314-977-6356

Research Integrity & Safety Group

Saint Louis University has multiple committees charged with ensuring the safety and integrity of research performed at the University. SLU’s research compliance committees help maintain effective compliance with University policy and regulatory requirements.

Mark Haenchen
Mark Haenchen
Executive Director, Research Integrity and Safety Group
mark.haenchen@slu.edu
314-977-6885

Libby Tempel
Libby Tempel
Manager, COI
libby.tempel@slu.edu
314-977-7047

Steve Tinge
Steve Tinge
Manager, IACUC
steve.tinge@slu.edu
314-977-2569


Mark Campbell
Mark Campbell
Biological Safety Officer
mark.campbell@slu.edu
314-977-6888

Kevin Ferguson
Kevin Ferguson
Associate Radiation Officer
kevin.ferguson@slu.edu
314-977-6896

Renee Knoll
Renee Knoll
Assistant Director, Environmental Health & Safety
renee.knoll@slu.edu
314-977-6884

Melissa Fitzgerald
Melissa Fitzgerald
IRB Analyst
melissa.fitzgerald@slu.edu
314-977-7732

Maureen Bresnahan
Maureen Bresnahan
IRB Analyst
maureen.bresnahan@slu.edu
314-977-7734

Rachel Millinger
Rachel Millinger
Education & Systems Administrator, IRB
rachel.millinger@slu.edu
314-977-9813


Danielle Hunter
Danielle Hunter
IRB Analyst
danielle.hunter@slu.edu
314-977-2029

spark
Elena Breer
IRB Coordinator
elena.breer@slu.edu
314-977-7741


Courtney Neal
Courtney Neal
Administrative Assistant, IRB
courtney.neal@slu.edu
314-977-7744

Pat Osmack
Patricia Osmack
Coordinator, IBC
patricia.osmack@slu.edu
314-977-6897

Nick Pierce-Cramer
Nick Pierce-Cramer
Biosafety Specialist
nick.piercecramer@slu.edu
314-977-6795

Lance Peters
Lance Peters
Radiation Safety Specialist
lance.peters@slu.edu
314-977-6894

Greg Buettner
Greg Buettner
Senior Chemical Safety Specialist
greg.buettner@slu.edu
314-977-6882

Johnnie Stevens
Johnnie Stevens
Senior Environmental Health & Safety Technician
johnnie.stevens@slu.edu
314-977-6883

 

Research Computing Group

The Research Computing Group (RCG) builds on Saint Louis University's ambition to develop and improve computing infrastructure, technology, services and support for research.

spark
David W. Gohara, Ph.D.
Director, Research Computing
david.gohara@health.slu.edu
617-216-8616

placeholder
Annamaria Szakonyi
Research Computing Architect
annamaria.szakonyi@health.slu.edu
314-977-3987

placeholder
Eric Kaufmann
Senior Application Systems Analyst
eric.kaufmann@health.slu.edu
314-977-2257

spark
Dennis Thomas
Linux Systems Administrator
ITS-Division Administration
dennis.thomas@health.slu.edu
314-977-2583